What's new
What's new

Cincinnati HydraShift Lathe Identification

darronreed

Plastic
Hello everyone. I am a newbie to machining and I am not ashamed to admit it. :) I have read many posts on Practical Machinist however, this is my first time posting and I need some help.

I recently purchased a 15x60 Cincinnati HydraShift Lathe with a serial number of 1WR2J5R-11 and I need help deciphering the serial number to determine what year it was manufactured as well as any other information that the serial number can tell me.

Additionally, the headstock casing tag reads 15 and the tailstock end of the bed reads 60. I assumed this means that the lathe is a 15x60 but when I look in the manual that came with the lathe, just about the only thing that matches the specs is the bed length. None of the swing dims match what is stated in the manual. They are close (+/- 1") but not as listed in the manual. The manual is for a LRT lathe but I have noticed that there is an LR manual out there as well. Could I possibly have the wrong manual?

Does anyone have any insight on what I may be missing or if the lathe really isn't what it is appears to be?

Thanks for any help that you all can give me!

Welcome to PM

I can't remember about the LR or LRT, but my book covers the 15,17,19,and 21" lathes.

Yep, you have a 15 x 60 lathe

I have a 17x54

Yours in good shape?

Search this forum and you will learn a lot about adjustments, clutches etc.

Depending on the units condition you may want to pop off the headstock cover and just check things out, and most likely change the oil, clean/replace the filter.

Also, not that hard to pull off the cross-slide and give that area a good cleaning and a check of the oilers.

Any more questions , just ask.

Thank you so much for the response and the nice welcome to PM!

I don't know of a price range for this type of lathe but I want to see if you all think I got a good deal...