What's new
What's new

collets for a VN no.11 mill

nic344

Plastic
hello everyone,im new to your web sight,and imand horizo a mechanic by trade not a machinist so I am green.
yesterday 6-23-17 I bought and brought back to the shop a van norman no.11 mill.a chain driven vertical
and horizontal mill. I bought it from a woman whos father had passed and I found out about it because of a
car that was being sold also. heres the first question there is only one collet and one piece of tooling with this machine. unfortainatly she sold a tray of collets to a man that was there a couple days before,
from what ive read so far the no. 11 uses a tapered C collet and I would think there hard to find. is there another collet that will work ive been reading every thing I can find about the no.11 and theres not as much info.out there as the no. 12 and some others...any help would be appreciated,thanks nic.

The No. 11 should use the same "Van Norman C" collet that the No. 12 uses. Hardinge still makes the collets, but they call them a "5V" collet (V for Van Norman). You can find them on eBay, but they are pretty pricey these days, it looks like they are going for close to $50 each. New Hardinge 5V collets are $117.50:

https://www.shophardinge.com/productGrid.aspx?catID=8391

I would love to see photos of your No. 11.

Cal

Never even heard of a No 11.

The No. 11 should use the same "Van Norman C" collet that the No. 12 uses. Hardinge still makes the collets, but they call them a "5V" collet (V for Van Norman). You can find them on eBay, but they are pretty pricey these days, it looks like they are going for close to $50 each. New Hardinge 5V collets are $117.50:

https://www.shophardinge.com/productGrid.aspx?catID=8391

I would love to see photos of your No. 11.

Cal

One showed up in the Antique Machinery forum back in 2011:

http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/antique-machinery-and-history/van-norman-11-no-kidding-233294/