What's new
What's new

K&T 2H Plain head?

gi_984

Aluminum
Good morning,
I'm considering buying a K& T No2 H plain. I have zero experience with these. The seller says it is under power and has oil flow in all sight windows. Has been in steady use until a few weeks ago. No known issues. Has a pallet of arbors, assorted cutters, IMG_20170401_110436.jpgIMG_20170401_110458.jpgIMG_20170401_111349.jpgIMG_20170401_111359.jpgand a vise. The seller thinks it is a 50 but not sure. Does not have the long outside knee support, slotting head, or dividing head/tailstock.
Serial # 40-3314
Anyway to tell if it is a 40 or 50 taper from the pictures?
What is the going price for a slotting head and the long knee support?
What is a fair price for this?

Thanks!

Spindle flange OD is dead give away (not the arbor flange in your photo)

40 will be 3 5/8 - same as the over arms

50 will be much more in-your-face at 5 1/16

3314 is a lot of SIXTY completed November 1941 - right before Pearl Harbor

In my view the big pair of inserted cutters is BAD NEWS for an H - which was never intended for the resulting HAMMERING

If you can find them, the attachments usually go 2-3x's the price of the machines. They're usually missing some important part or 2 to make them work. As for the price....all over the place. I paid $1500 for my 2CHL because it's almost factory new.
I needed another horizontal mill like I needed a hole in my head. But, I picked a K&T 307-S12 in great condition with (8) #50 arbors for $400 about a month ago. There was someone in the sale forum that had some mills for sale pretty cheap. I'd start at $100 over scrap and not go much from there.