What's new
What's new

K & T Model K Dividing head indexing plates

Rawleigh

Aluminum
I salvaged a K & T Model K dividing head from the scrap man. Unfortunately both plates were broken in half. It has a 10" chuck on it. It needs some work, but seems salvageable. The price was right (free) so I don't mind spending some time cleaning it up if I can get plates. The plates that were on it were 22689 (54, 58, 68, 76, 78, 88 & 98 holes) and 22690 (60, 66, 72, 84, 92 96 & 100 holes).

I have done a search on the Model K and understand that it came in different sizes and uses a different gear ratio from most dividing heads.

I am a novice machinist who mostly works on old equipment, so it is probably more dividing head than I need, but it was free. I need to be able to cut splines on shafts and do other simple dividing tasks.

Does anyone have any of the more common plates available for it? Also, why did they put two plates back to back on it? All of the other models I have seen have a single plate. I understand how a "normal" dividing head works, but how does the double plate design work?

I have a friend with a CNC Bridgeport who thinks he can make me plates for it, but If I can get some for a reasonable price it would save him a lot of work. I have been watching on Ebay, but I haven't seen any of the large K plates come up in the last 6 months.

Thanks for putting up with my novice questions.

Create a backer plate for each fragment set, clean up the crack quite well, mount the fragment sets to their respective backer set, and see how much accuracy has been compromised?

Set up an ebay search for indexing plates, dividing plates, specific part numbers, etc. and ebay will email you when something is listed.

I would suggest a search string such as:
(kearney, trecker, model K, milwaukee) (indexing , dividing) (plate, plates, 22689, 22690)