What's new
What's new

Milling machine comparison (I'm a rookie)

steelsponge

Aluminum
Greetings; This is Clyde (steel sponge) on the forum. For a first milling machine i decided to go with a combination vertical and horizontal. I'm looking at a van norman #22 3 arbor supports and no other tooling. I think it can be bought for 500.00 I would like to compare that to a Cincinnati 2 mh. It appears to be in above average condition with a fair amount of tooling. Spindle size is a #50 Asking price on the machine is a roughly 2000.00 to 1500.00. What does everyone think? I'm leaning towards the Cincinnati:smoking:, while more money it is much better equipped.

What spindle does the Van Norman have? Some of the older No. 22s had a B&S #13 taper spindle and it can be very tough to find tooling for them. If it has a 50 taper spindle, then they are are great machines.

Cal

I too have been casually looking at some horizontal mills, mostly Cincinnati No2's, 2ML, and 2MH's some universal, some plain, though I'm not sure how useful the rotating tables are. Most of the machines I have been looking at range from 1937 to maybe 1950. The cost and the weight of those machines seems manageable for my uses. Some of newer generations of those look like they are pushing 10,000 lbs which is a bit much for me atm.

Are the arbor tapers all different sizes in those ? Any other thoughts or useful info ?

I too have been casually looking at some horizontal mills, mostly Cincinnati No2's, 2ML, and 2MH's some universal, some plain, though I'm not sure how useful the rotating tables are. Most of the machines I have been looking at range from 1937 to maybe 1950. The cost and the weight of those machines seems manageable for my uses. Some of newer generations of those look like they are pushing 10,000 lbs which is a bit much for me atm.

Are the arbor tapers all different sizes in those ? Any other thoughts or useful info ?