What's new
What's new

Radial Arm Drill Press Cincinnati-Bickman Model 3A - Purchase Opinions Needed

landrand

Plastic
I've found an old Cincinnati-Bickman Model 3A Radial Arm Drill press from a local retired fab shop that I might be interested in buying. Unfortunately, I'm new to machining and don't know much about RA drill presses. I won't be able to test the machine as the owner recently sold his shop and the press is sitting on a trailer. The owner indicated that its a great machine and comes with large number of bits 2" and down (morse taper with collet bits). Could I get your opinion on this RA drill press and what you think it's worth. I'm going to retire in a few years and am looking to set up a hobby metal shop. Thanks for your time and I look forward to your recommendations and comments.

Cincinatti-Bickman-3A-2.jpgCincinatti-Bickman-3A-1.jpgCincinatti-Bickman-3A-3.jpgCincinatti-Bickman-3A-4.jpg

Well I'll throw in my opinion. If it was anywhere near me and at a halfway reasonable price, I'd buy it. Do I have a need for it, not right now but I'd find one. It looks like a great old machine in decent condition, rescue it, give it a good home and some work to do.

Craig

Last edited:
Well I'll throw in my opinion. If it was anywhere near me and at a halfway reasonable price, I'd buy it. Do I have a need for it, not right now but I'd find one. It looks like a great old machine in decent condition, rescue it, give it a good home and some work to do.

Craig

What do you think is a "reasonable" price for this RA drill press?

Its real old and its heavy and it will take up a lot of room. Is your hobby metal shop going to do heavy fabrication work? If not, I'd skip it. There are many other pieces of iron you will use more.

If you make an offer, consider the cost of getting it in place and wired in your price. Its heavy, and high centered. It wants to lay down very badly.