What's new
What's new

Thinking About a 1940s? Cincinnati 2MI? Vertical

ihv800

Plastic
Hello all!

I've enjoyed and been fascinated with manual machining for a long time. I have very little experience with it, but am getting to the point I'll have a place I can set up with some machines. I'd really like to at least get a mill (initially was thinking Bridgeport) and a lathe (Monarch 10EE would be my ideal, but something similar in size I think). It will mostly be for hobbies sake, maybe a few small jobs for friends and such, and I really don't intend on doing much very heavy work (once I get going and learning, who knows, though!). Hopefully that will kind of give an idea on my situation.

My searches found this. It's listed at a Cincinnati #2. I believe it's a 1940s Cincinnati #2MI Vertical, though I'm not certain that's 100% accurate, just the closest I could come up with. My searching didn't come up with much specific information on these so I just wanted to share and hear what everyone has to say. I haven't went to look at it (and it may very well be gone) but I'd like to know what I should look for when/if I do. I'd also like thoughts on if this will fit my needs. I understand its substantially more capable than a Bridgeport but not as versatile? I also worry about how much space it takes up, but its much cheaper than any Bridgeports I've found.

Educate the new guy! Thanks
00e0e_l4QUFOLgoLv_1200x900.jpg
00c0c_1k7fhKe6dfb_1200x900.jpg
01313_2QwThSaoVfe_1200x900.jpg
00M0M_AgEKtYzZjP_1200x900.jpg

Since nobody else has chimed in...

The good:

That is one of the best vertical mills ever made in that size. It has gobs of power, endless rigidity, three axis knee powerfeed and head downfeed with stops and rapids on all. Hydraulically shifted transmission on both feed and spindle, as well as hydraulic spindle brake and a real live spindle clutch. It has acres of table space and you will never be able to run a Bridgeport with a straight face after you run this.