What's new
What's new

Van Norman Questions

Myrmidon

Cast Iron
Hey there folks!

So I've decided to take up collecting some heavy iron to hold down the concrete in my garage properly.

After perusing the EBay, auctions sites and doing some research I've decided I really like the look of Van Norman machines, the swiveling head and the versatility that brings really draws me.

Problem is outside of seeing them and kicking the tires, I've got no hands on experience with Van Normans.

I've heard/read some things and now I've got some questions and this looks like the most productive spot to spout an off.

1) I heard finding parts can be a bastard, any problem areas to look for on inspecting outside of the standard fare?

2) the ones with quills seem rare, are the quills any good at all/worth holding out for? Any models tNorman.

3) How common are the ones with 3 axis power feed, Is that mainly a feature on later models?

4) Are they as beefy/rigid as they look?

5) if I get the 5V or 2N spindle how does one mount larger cutters than 3/4 shank? Is there a spindle face hole pattern for mounting fave mills and the like?

Thanks guys

Oh my, so many topics to cover.. I love all my VN machines they are ridged as hell and with tooling will remove metal and love every second of it. The 22 series and up are common three axis power , knee and x, y . If you find one with a quill... Buy it, they are rare, look for a universal so you can pivot the table, adds a lot of versatility to the machine...spindle tapers is where you have to pay attention, if you want 3 axis power you are in a larger machine and 5V isn't were you are , some others can vouch for the options there , my 16 has 5V , although I have collets, I took R8's Weldon and turned them to 5v, also more rugged and surpassing the 5/8 limit on the stock collet, this is my 2c and you can't go wrong with a VN in my opinion..

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk