What's new
What's new

kennametal tooling

jprobst

Cast Iron
when my boss bought our new haas vf-2 he got a tooling certificate with kennametal. we have about $1300 left on it and i really wanted to get some indexable end mill type tooling, i have four of there catalogues and its quite stressful. i'm still fairly new to this new and advanced equipment, could someone recommend what type to get? i mainly run .375,.5,.625 type endmills on 6061 aluminum making custom sandrail parts or making jigs to drill holes in the 1000 different parts for our customers. i don't want to blow it and buy a bunch of crap i don't need, i could use a chamfer mill, center cutting mill, a nice face mill(2.0) and so fourth, but there are so many options, (lead in, 0 degree, 30 degreee,positive 0 degree lead -in, its very confusing. any input would greatly be appreciated, thanks

Some time the cataloguew are a real maze to look through. Get a Kennametel technical Rep to come and see you. Show him and explain the type of work you do and he/she should have some very good recomendations on cutter type.

Any of the good tech reps I have delt with know there product like the back of there hand. I think they memorize the entire inventory, its almost scary.

I would say go for 0 degrees lead for square shoulders with positve inserts.

KC5410 Is a great grade for turning Alum but im not sure if it is a milling grade. They will have some alum specific grade insterts that will be the best bet.

thanks, yeah my tooloing rep will be here tues, i just didn't want to look like a dumb@#$. i'm running a $60,000 machine and yet have no idea when it comes to stuff like this,

After years of doing this work, I am still a dumb@$$. The only difference now is I am a smart enough dumb@$$ to know when to ask for help!

The tool reps are schooled on all the new stuff. Don't feel like the Lone Ranger we all have to ask for help.