What's new
What's new

1985 Bridgeport R2E4 CNC Retrofit

Caseman91291

Plastic
Hello there.

My name is Casey and I am a 24 year old graduate of a machinist program here in Minnesota. I recently acquired a mill that came out of a high school. It is a good 'ole Bridgeport R2E4 from 1985. I kinda lucked out because this machine never saw production work. The iron is solid. It's the brains that are lacking. By today's standards it is a little behind in both the hardware and the software electrically speaking. That's not to say that in its day this bad boy couldn't pump out parts but upon testing the machine it doesn't seem to want to chooch like she once did. I am curious and speculating that an excited high school student figured they were a NASA electrical engineer and let the smoke out of her. And as it goes, once that genie is out of the bottle, boy it's tough to put it back.

So I have decided to move ahead and do a retrofit. I have been racking my brain and combing through machinist sites for what everyone else is doing and how to implement it on my project. It seems relatively straight forward. I am reluctant though to take wire cutter to her and gut it. I am not sure I know enough about electronics and programming to grab that tiger by the tail yet. That means any help of any kind is always greatly appreciated.