3 phase converter question
Close
Login to Your Account
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default 3 phase converter question

I just received a prototrak lathe, and am trying to figure out what kind of VFD or converter to use with it.

The confusing part to me is that although it has a 7 1/2 HP spindle motor, the nameplate on the lathe calls for 3 phase input of 25 amps. The spec also calls for a source of 9.5KVA That's enough for 12.5 HP, far more than 7.5 HP. Checking other motor manufacturers, I'm finding that a 7.5 HP 3 phase motor typically calls for around 10KVA. ??? The efficiency for that comes out to around 0.6 Doesn't make sense to me.

I'm finding that digital phase converters for this power level are extremely expensive. Beginning to investigate VFDs, but not sure I'm going to find a single to three phase VFD at that power level.

This is my first time around this block, so any helpful comments would be appreciated.

thanks, rex

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Call the factory,They are just around the corner from you. People are helpful and friendly. Look them up on the net under Southwestern Industries.

Tom

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Minnesota
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

A motor rated for 7.5 HP continuous can chooch more than that momentarily. It'll probably have high load on startup for example.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I called the factory. I wasn't able to get hold of anyone who knows more than to repeat the spec. However, the lathe has a 3 phase to 3 phase VFD in it that's rated 10 HP. I assume the input power to the lathe is spec'd according to the internal VFD with some margin, rather than to the motor.

I've also found that I can't put a single to 3 phase VFD in front of the VFD that's already there. A VFD needs an inductive load to operate correctly.