What's new
What's new

4140 Feed and speed suggestion

HSM_CHIEF

Aluminum
I’m just looking for a good starting point for running a 1.75in LOC by .5 dia 4 flute end mill in 4140. I’m running high speed toolpaths I have no problem going .750/1in doc with a .1 step over and around 400sfm and .0025fpt but when I increase my loc I get chatter... what should I change? Thanks everyone

Those aren't very HSM-ish parameters :scratchchin:.

How about 6-10% stepover instead of 20%, and much higher fpt (make sure to use chip-thinning calcs)?

Regards.

Mike

Those aren't very HSM-ish parameters :scratchchin:.

How about 6-10% stepover instead of 20%, and much higher fpt (make sure to use chip-thinning calcs)?

Regards.

Mike
Finegrain thanks for the quick response but you’d run a 6-10% stepover even with a 4 flute? If I was running a 5-6-7 flute I’d lower my stepover but I’m trying to remove a lot of material I’m not an expert by any means yet...

Annealed I'm assuming, the shit is like mild steel.. Maybe back it down 10%...

You know how people tell you to go max revs and feed as hard as you can on aluminum.
That's kind of what happens with an annealed 4140 or 4340.. My magic # in the soft stuff
has been .070 step over with a 1/2"... 700-900 sfm and feed the heck out of it.. .007+
a tooth.. Depending on your machine, run the #'s backwards and make sure you aren't
going to run out of HP.

What is going to kick your ass is the 1.75 loc.. I wouldn't want to try and take that in
one cut.. You are getting to that point where your hang out is getting up there, and an
endmill that is fluted back more than 3X D is where you are start running into issues..
I would go with a standard length 1.25loc. and get as deep as you can and then come in
with a second tool hanging further out.. If you stay a few thou off the wall you won't
even need to buy a necked back tool. Then come in and finish.