What's new
What's new

4th axis help for smaller CNC machine

JeffJo

Plastic
Hello!

I'm new to this forum and I am looking for some helpful suggestions.

Our company recently purchased an ACT DMCIII tabletop milling machine. We purchased the optional 4th axis because we engrave dies and require rotation during milling. The rotary table was supposed to have zero backlash. We quickly found out after going through 2 of them that this is not the case. We even tried to use bungee cords to more tightly reduce the backlash.

Now we are looking for a new rotary table with stepper motor to replace the one we've already purchased. I understand now that true zero backlash in a rotational axis might not be possible. We'd like to find one that has little to no backlash or that is adjustable down to zero.

Frankly, I am no engineer. I don't have the experience to rebuild a rotary table. What I am looking for is a good, straight out of the box 4th axis that would work with our machine.

Any suggestions?

I appreciate any and all help that I can get!!

This may sound obvious to some 'residents' here, but I rarely travel in two directions when programming something with a 4th axis. I typically set up, touch off, and check, all moving the rotary in the same direction. I find this absolutely critical for repeatability.

Ive only ever worked with Hardinge and Richmill 4th axis rotary implements.

This may sound obvious to some 'residents' here, but I rarely travel in two directions when programming something with a 4th axis. I typically set up, touch off, and check, all moving the rotary in the same direction. I find this absolutely critical for repeatability.

Ive only ever worked with Hardinge and Richmill 4th axis rotary implements, but rarely experienced backlash that was not correctable by simple adjustment of the backlash adjusting screw inside the covers.