What's new
What's new

5 axis software experts.

5 axis Fidia guy

Stainless
Ok, I am not a complete newbie here in the 5axis department, but I need some feedback. I have been very successfully doing simultanious mold work on several machine here but I currently have a project that is kicking my ass so to speak. Is there any software out there able to do multipencil finishing simultanious toolpaths that will see undercuts from a TOP view, without makes several work planes to reach undercut areas? If so please speak up!

Ok, I am not a complete newbie here in the 5axis department, but I need some feedback. I have been very successfully doing simultanious mold work on several machine here but I currently have a project that is kicking my ass so to speak. Is there any software out there able to do multipencil finishing simultanious toolpaths that will see undercuts from a TOP view, without makes several work planes to reach undercut areas? If so please speak up!

If you don't mind me asking, what are you using right now software wise?

And when you say "That will see undercuts from a top view" ... I am assuming 5 axis vertical looking top-down? [I'm trying to visualize if transparency is required or if you are looking through a solid onto a reverse or occluded surface to see an undercut?]... Any chance you can post some pics of what you are talking about or re-made/hacked examples of what's hanging you up? Or what it is you can't "See".

Cheers,

I believe Powermill is capable of this. But your choice of tool is important also. Such as a lollipop cutter. Mastercam is supposed to do this also. I use both but have not had the occasion to use it and it may not work in all instances. I think Powermill would have a better chance at success since it's design was meant for these circumstances.

Paul