What's new
What's new

Anyone use Rego-Fix powRgrip or Fahrion collet system ?

Shop Supply Guru

Hot Rolled
I am new to selling Rego-Fix for distribution and I have a new customer interested in upgrading to a high performance finishing tool holders. They are currently using BT30 shrinkfit and they are getting a big time tuning fork effect.

That said has anyone used either the Rego-Fix powRgrip or Fahrion ER collet system? I appreciate your input. Thanks

Roughing or finishing?

I would treat chatter between roughing & finishing differently.

Chatter at roughing - Shorten up the tool mainly. Pick a cutter with variable flute spacing. Adjust the depth/stepover. If you're fighting chatter in roughing, I might not even worry too much about runout in this situation. The runout isn't good for tool-life, but the inconsistent chip-thickness between teeth (we're talking microns here) may actually help prevent harmonics from starting up.

Chatter at finishing - Pick an endmill designed for finishing, with no edge-prep/honing on the flutes. A hydraulic toolholder may actually be preferred here, as it might help with dampening.

That said, I'm sure the Fahrion system is high-quality, just as any high-precision, on-size collet system would be. Just be aware it might not be *the fix* if you have other issues going on.

Short gage length > all other holders in BT30
a 1.1 gage er16 holder will produce a better finish than a 3" gage shrink fit.

Lyndex makes some very nice and short SK holders that I've been using with good success.

You guys are both right on the money. Yeah my customer is using an 80mm gage length shrinkfit holder and having fits. They are getting better tool life from the Lyndex Sk system.