What's new
What's new

Machining precision parts involving replaced tools and the need to modify CAM?

noobimachinist

Plastic
Hi Im a noob machinist doing it for hobby. I got two questions.

I'm wondering, what is the proper way of ensuring a single machined part is manufactured to precision the first time around based on offloading it all to automation? (say fairly low tolerance of 0.005mm). I mean, is it the 'customary' way to measure the actual diameter of the cutting tool first before programming the G-code to machine the part? So if you have a fancy laser gauge you can measure the tool diameter (you have to measure at the cutting RPM too right?) or for hobby/lower budget people without those renishaw laser gauges, do you just plunge mill a hole into the intended material then precision measure that hole?

I mean to ask, is it the only proper way to do precision stuff is to first measure actual tool diameter (laser gauge or mill then measure hole), before going to the CAM side to program the G-code by inputting the actual measured tool diameter?

My second question is along the same lines. If you are in a mass production environment, and one that ultimately involves tool replacement due to broken bits, how do you ensure your G-code is usable for this new tool since there may be some tolerance in the tool itself from the manufacturer. In other words, the G-code program you spent a lot of time on for one particular tool, may not be a great fit for the replacement tool which may have a different cutting diamater. In other words, for mass production relying on automation, do you need to re-program the part every time a tool change is done, in order to maintain low tolerance manufacturing?

Actually it's fairly simple...

...You write your program to zero offset and G41,G42, G40 as necessary. In the machines you use the tool diameter (or radius) and height screens to describe your tools and adjust as needed for size and cutter wear.