What's new
What's new

Is the Big Plus spindle really that much better?

ben29

Aluminum
The company I work for is going to buy another rx650 mill and I am trying to convince them to go with the big plus spindle. We do all aluminum and zinc castings, so not a lot of heavy milling, but we have some tight tolerances. I was hoping one of you could really make a case for the big plus as I have no experience with it. Thanks.

The big plus is often packaged with other things, like the high torque spindle, and through spindle coolant. My 450 and 700 have these, although I don't have a pump yet for the TSC. I'm very happy with mine so far, although I have not done a side by side test with non-big plus. The high torque is limited to 10K though, so if you need more speed than that, I would not bother.......... To me, the high torque and big plus go together...... ymmv.........
Still runs fine on 30 amps.
:)

yes

The BIG-PLUS(R) Spindle System | BIG KAISER Precision Tooling Inc.

http://www.big-daishowa.com/pdf/general_ca_pdf/features.pdf

You are increasing the cantilever stiffness of the holder by a considerable amount

Just off the cuff, you are going from roughly a 70 mm dia to a 100mm dia assuming tis a bar

Max deflection under point load for a cantilever PL^3/3EI

assuming all is equal for the two, you are left with the deflection being a function of C/I

If we assume a bar shape pi/4r^4

So we are working with R to the fourth power or around 4X stiffer 4x less deflection.

Yeah its more complicated than this, but hey there is some simple math to support a complex decission.

I am impressed by the rigidity of the cat50 big plus machine I just installed... but I am comparing a pretty beat up 40 taper linear way standard cat 40 cartridge spindle machine to a box way big plus cat50 thats brand new. It all comes down to money.... if you can make the numbers work they should buy it, but you won't know for sure until you buy one and run it a while.