What's new
What's new

Boring a 0.256" by 16+" - 30+" hole through M2/A2 tool steel

Bendak

Aluminum
Hi,
I am new to CNC machining and was wondering if it would be possible to drill a 0.256" diameter by either a 16+" or up to 30+" hole through M2 or A2 HSS tool steel. My goal is to make a large increment tree borer. I have attached pictures and a link to a PDF showing dimensions of this tool. The threads contain cams to further complicate the process of machining.

http://imlafrica.com/Anleitung_Zuwachsbohrer_eng_02-2009.pdf (Schematics on pages 3 and 4)

Thanks for the help,
Jack

Attachments

• 811wqSamfRL._SY679_.jpg
    811wqSamfRL._SY679_.jpg
    39.4 KB · Views: 314
  • large_370_Borerbit.jpg
    large_370_Borerbit.jpg
    24.8 KB · Views: 262
The link didn't work, but the short answer to your question is; Yes it can be done.

The longer answer is; it won't be easy or cheap. Just accept that part right now. Don't pursue it if you think you can cheap out on a project like this.

You say "new to CNC machining" does that mean you are a grizzled, gnarly old manual machinist? I think not, because the ones I know wouldn't ask the question. :D

You will need specialized tools, and specialized knowledge of D.H.D. and if your lucky a machine that is good for this kind of work. Much deeper, much smaller holes have been drilt.

R

Why would you even consider boring from the solid. I would start with a piece of DOM tubing with tool steel welded on the screw end and alloy steel welded on the back end.

I'm with Illinoyance on this one. Make the boring/cutter head from tool steel, and the shank from inexpensive standard tube. Vastly easier, faster and cheaper. If you absolutely require 0.256" bore rather than a common 0.250" bore, it would be pretty cheap to get a made-to-order reamer and braze it to as long an operating shank as you require.