What's new
What's new

Capto??

brian.pallas

Hot Rolled
Hello all,

If you guys were tooling up a HMC from scratch would you go with Capto vs normal shell holders?

I have some experience with Capto tools and was wondering what you guys thought. Are they worth the extra money?

Brian

If you're talking about face-mills, then my suggestion would be no. There's no reason to use Capto for facemills, as you'll be limiting your selection, and I really don't see any benefit...

Now, if you're talking about Capto-shank indexable drills, I think there's some merit there. If you use a short CAT > Capto back-end tool, then your tool assembly can be shorter than with cylindrical/weldon shank tools.

I also like Capto in turning, for the quick-change, and also for more rigidity in longer stick-out applications. For indexable milling cutters, I don't think there's much need, unless you're talking about large/long indexable endmills. (The cutters with multiple rows) Then I think Capto makes sense, for the same reason as the drills above - shorter tool assemblies. But for face-mills - nah, skip it and just stick with plain arbor/pilot mount facemills.

We have a small selection of capto tooling here that we use for deep cavity and core work. It works quite well however the one complaint i do have is if you want to change length or arbor you have to strip the whole thing down.

I use Capto on mills (CAT40) and lathes, it is a great system for hole making.Very good selection of drills, rough and finish boring bars. But face milling and end-milling just plain shell-mill holders and sidelock holders.

If you're talking about face-mills, then my suggestion would be no. There's no reason to use Capto for facemills, as you'll be limiting your selection, and I really don't see any benefit...

Place I used to work had Capto extensions that we stacked up to ~32" long for use with 5" dia facemills for clearance reasons. Worked surprisingly well and the job was Ti to boot.