What's new
What's new

CNC to Laptop interface

tella

Plastic
Couple questions, im a student 3 weeks into learning this so bare with me...

First question is, can anyone tell me what kind of port this is?

Its located right along the left side of the display screen on the fanuc control. In addition to this port, one of the machines contains a usb under the same access cover leading me to believe it is some kind of input interface.

IMAG0062.jpg IMAG0063.jpg

Ultimately what i want to accomplish is an easy way to connect my laptop to different CNC's to upload programs. The machines also have standard serial ports which im sure i could track down a serial to usb if thats the easiest way.

My second question is a bit more general. The school I am going to has only had this program going a couple years. I am trying to convince them to purchase some sort of CNC Emulator like NC Plot (this is the only one ive played around with a bit so far). Can anyone recommend something like this? I know companies that sell CNC's often will sell a training program along with the machine, has anybody come across this?

Any help, suggestions, or advice are greatly appreciated.

Looks like a zip drive or some type of DAT tape port to me but I'm just guessing.

I've been programing and machining for about 25 years and it's still fun most of the time.

Bill

On a Fanuc Oi TC its a PCMCIA port, but that one looks more like a compact flash port. I don't believe that you can communicate directly with the control thru that port. You can use a compact flash card found in a lot of old digital cameras, but if you set in using a laptop, you'd have to use the RS232 port.

Each control manufacturer would require its own cable because each manufacturer has a different pin configuration.