What's new
What's new

CNC router to cut and tap holes in aluminium box section?

honestone

Plastic
Hello everyone! I am looking at manufacturing mobile robots to my design. I have no background in manufacturing. I understand that my needs can be served by a CNC router, but there are so many to choose from that I'm totally lost.

It comes down to cutting and tapping a lot of holes in aluminium box section, up to 4mm thick. The hole diameter will be 80% of the smallest dimenstion of the box section. For example, for 200x100mm box section (the largest) holes will be 80mm, same for 100x100mm box section. For 100x50mm box section holes will be 40mm, etc. Holes are evenly spaced and cover all surfaces of the box section. The thread size will scale as needed according to diameter. The length of the box section will be 1m.

What are the critical router characteristics that I need to check before buying one?

if you re going to use a CNC router to tap holes, plan on thread milling the threads. Most router spindles do not have enough low speed torque to tap. We successfully thread mill 6-32 holes. But this means your control must be able to do helical interpolation or use a cam system that breaks the moves up into time straight line segments.

To get a router that can tap holes you will spend a lot of money. To tap holes you need to reverse the spindle and have spindle orientation. You could get by with a tapping head but that is not ideal and I doubt the router would work most have high speed spindles and very low torque at low RPM so tapping is completely out unless someone on here knows something I don't about this. This is also probably not the forum for this type question. What do plan to spend?