What's new
What's new

Converting mini mill to CNC questions.

Bclark215

Plastic
Howdy, I am currently a manufacturing engineering student, and i'm extremely interested in all things machining, but especially cnc milling. I will be taking several machining and cmc design classes in the coming semester, however I would love to have a small cnc mill of my own to 1. learn on my own and get a head start on my classes, and 2. be able to complete personal projects and maybe even make a little money on the side to help pay for new tooling and supplies. I have been looking into converting a Harbor Freight mini mill to cnc using one of the cnc fusion kits, but aside from a few postings on other forums I can't find a whole lot of information. I was wondering if anyone knew of a site that had more info, or just had some advice to give. I have been welding and metalworking my whole life, but am new to the machining/milling world. One of my main questions is what kind of performance I could expect from a converted mini mill of this kind? I would like to be able to machine small engineering parts from aluminum, bronze, copper, and even carbon and stainless steel if these are all within the capability of the machine. As a student, my budget is very low and would like to keep it as cheap as possible, and was therefore wondering if anyone knew of a place where I might could find drawings or dimensions of the motor mounts and other hardware that is necessary to perform a conversion. I have access to/know people who have access to the schools machine shop, and could possibly have some of these parts made for me to cut down on the price of the conversion kit. My last question is I know I will need some sort of arduino/motor controller, however electronics is not my strong suit. can anyone tell me what I might be looking at when it comes to the actual software? I would like to use fusion 360 to create actual cmc tool paths, and feel comfortable doing so.