What's new
What's new

Countersink chatter

Plouch16

Aluminum
I've moved up from running prototype 420 stainless in a Haas VF2 to running production 6061 in a bunch of Makino a51's. I'm countersinking larger holes (3/4-1-1/2) and QC has asked me to look into chatter marks. It seems they've been running 6 flute countersinks, which from what I believe we should be running 3 flute or less? Hoping the less cutting edges it has the less the chatter will be. Any input is always appreciated.

If you are plunging (which it sounds like you are) you cannot run a countersink slow enough. Even in aluminum I would be between 40-50 sf. If you have the option of interpolating that is hands down the best way to go.

Yes I am plunging. The problem is on some of the pallets there are 64 holes that might get countersunk on a face. Interpolating will increase cycle time exponentially. I'm still new to their cam software, but it seems they run their 3/4 at 2340 rpm @ 49 z feedrate. I know it is entirely too fast, but the change in chatter vs added time may not be worth it to them.

Agree with above about to fast
I'd try adjusting speed down manually to see if you get an improvement.
That won't change your cycle time, but I wouldn't be surprise if a 6 flute loaded up with 6061 material

Yes I am plunging. The problem is on some of the pallets there are 64 holes that might get countersunk on a face. Interpolating will increase cycle time exponentially. I'm still new to their cam software, but it seems they run their 3/4 at 2340 rpm @ 49 z feedrate. I know it is entirely too fast, but the change in chatter vs added time may not be worth it to them.

I'd drop the "0" off of your 2340 rpm and run 234. Decreasing the rpm won't slow down a ipm machine at all.

The countersinks are MA Ford Carb 6 flute. I'm gonna drop it down to 400 sfm which came out to around 2k @ 34 feed.