What's new
What's new

Help for selecting CNC machine

Salman Aziz

Plastic
I am quite new to CNC machine. I want maximum machine operations for piston production by using a cnc machine and I don't have an idea which type of machine I should have?? please help me in this regard. Many many thanks

You may need to give a little more information as to your operation before anyone could help you with an informed choice. Are we talking about turning or milling? What kind of sizes are we talking about? What kind of material are these pistons made of? How much volume do you expect to produce?

Pistons are not round when at normal machining temperatures. Because of that, they're turned in custom built machines in most instances. On some of these machines, the cutting head spins and the piston stays stationary. Don't know many of the details past that, other than to know that normal CNC machine tools are not what you need to do this work on a volume basis.

Metl

I admittedly know a lot more about Nuclear Physics than piston details, but can you elaborate on this: :confused:

"""
Pistons are not round when at normal machining temperatures.
"""

Like metlmunchr said, most pistons are oval in the skirt area at least, and tapered also...so as to be round when at operating temperature. Done on machinery purpose built for making pistons.
No idea what type of volume you are talking about, or what size, style, or application for your pistons. There is much more to making pistone than meets the eye.

I want to know how to get a job selecting a machine of which I know NOTHING about for a process I know nothing about and either spend my own money or that of my employer, even if it is in Pakistan??

Anyone else smell something wrong here?