What's new
What's new

Drilling Copper

SeymourDumore

Diamond
Guys

SImple question. Really.

How the @#!%$&@ do you drill Copper?
This is Amcoloy 97, gotta put 2 holes each of .140 dia @ 1" depth and 6 each of .203 dia @ 1.35 depth.

I'm on part #2 and so far used up 2 #28, 3 #7 drills and exactly 3.2 years of my life expectancy.
Considering there is 58 more to go, I'll be dead by 9:25 AM tomorrow.

Thanks

I'm guessing you are working the night shift, and since it doesn't look like many other people are awake. I have some copper experience, but quite a bit in aluminum bronze. Its nasty abrasive, and it grabs.

So, slow, and wet, and since it grabs, a neutral rake on the end of your drill, as in, get rid of the sharp positive edge, stone it flat, not the relief on the bottom, but the actual cutting edge.

I may be totally wrong, but I'm sure at some point somebody will wake up and give you some more info.

Think a half-round drill would work in copper?

I have an occasional copper job that requires a 1/8 drill about 1.5" deep, and the strings get stuck to the drill and need to get pulled off after every hole.
I had the same problem with a plastic job I was running, and switched to a half-round drill and the chips simply fall into the chip bed, worked great.