What's new
What's new

Emco 340 Lathe - What might i be getting into?

macds

Hot Rolled
I have a small farm repair shop. Ive been looking for an inexpensive "quality" cnc lathe for a while. I've come across an 89 emco with a Siemens 810t control for a reasonable price. Current owner says the turret brake needs replacing. Can anybody expand on "replacing the turret brake" on one of these guys for me?
The machine itself looks to be very well built, for a smaller cnc lathe. The price is definitely right (assuming I can fix it myself, and I do have machine building as a background).

What says the PM masses?

Is the thing a heap, money pit, pile of turd?
I've read that they are quite accurate when running well. I have no experience with one, hence I ask.

I've had excellent luck turning the bucks with cheap second hand gear, but this one has me thinking.....

Cheers!

Stu

I have a 91 Emco 342 with the 810t control(very similar). I paid very little for it with a bad servo drive. Found a new one on ebay and it runs great. I have had it for 5 years and only have had to replace that drive and a prox sensor in the turret. Machine is very rigid for it's size. Not fast but will hold tenths all day long. Even from dead cold in the morning. The turret should be a Sauter. Indexing technologies carries parts for them. $$$$

The 810T takes some getting used to but it's not to bad. Has it's own code and cycles.

What do the ways look like? What shape is the rest of the machine? What are they asking for it? I paid $3k for mine. I would not pay any more than that for a broken one.

Thanks for response.
I going to look at the machine on Friday. Current owner says it needs the brake replaced. There doesn't appear to actually be a brake on this turret.
Turret is a Sauter 0.5.480.316 8 station.
Ive found this pdf, that is mildly helpful. http://www.indexingtechnologies.com/catalogs/(PI-49e) Product Information for TYPE 0.5.480.5xx.pdf