What's new
What's new

Endmill Breakage Feeds/Speeds/Depth of Cut

gradstdnt_99

Hot Rolled
I'm fairly new to programming and am seeking some advise to prevent breaking small endmills. I've been trying to cut a pocket in steel with a 1/8" four flute endmill x 1/2" LOC Carbide endmill. I know I'm shy with spindle RPM with a max of only 4200 RPM but set up the feeds to accomodate a .001 feed per tooth cut. Problem is the equations I've used to calculate my feeds based on spindle RPM and tooth load don't say squat about depth of cut.

My problem is that I can only take very a very light depth of cut, .020 or less, otherwise I'm destined to break an the endmill. How is depth of cut, especially for small slender endmills, factored into figuring out feeds and speeds used.
Your insight and experience appreciated. Learning the hard and expensive way by breaking carbide is getting old. :confused:

ATMO, assuming garden variety steel like 1020 or something, you need to reduce your feed down to around .0003 to .0005 per tooth for an 1/8" end mill with a 1/2" LOC. An 1/8" endmill with a 1/2" LOC is a whispy affair. If you can rough out the pocket with a bigger cutter, do so. If you can use a stub length cutter, do so. If you're plunging into the part with the cutter, stop and drill a hole to use as a start position.

I'm fairly new to programming and am seeking some advise to prevent breaking small endmills. I've been trying to cut a pocket in steel with a 1/8" four flute endmill x 1/2" LOC Carbide endmill. I know I'm shy with spindle RPM with a max of only 4200 RPM but set up the feeds to accomodate a .001 feed per tooth cut. Problem is the equations I've used to calculate my feeds based on spindle RPM and tooth load don't say squat about depth of cut.
you wont be able to do much with that size cutter going that deep, especially if its carbide, you are already at 4 times diameter for loc.
what you need to do is either