What's new
What's new

Fadal Format 1 Programming

tlipton

Aluminum
Hi Guys,

I'm working on a new post processor for an older (1991-92) Fadal 4020 5 axis VMC for some new CAM software. I was hoping that somebody could post a couple of snippets of code or short sample programs for me to examine and reference. I am new to Fadal but old to CNC and I would have to say the Fadal behaves a little differently that many other machines I've worked with in the past.

We are working in format 1. Right now I'm only concerned with getting a streamlined post for three axis work.

So here is what I am looking for specifically,
Preparatory start and safety lines
Tool changes
End of Program
Fixture offset calls
A/B Head rotations.

Thanks in advance

Tom Lipton

%
O135 (part xyz 'Letter O followed by program number' 'Parenthesis (is for comments and will show program name at the control'

T7 M6 'tool number, M6 for toolchange'

G0 G8 G90 X0 Y0 S6500 M3 E1 'Rapid (duh), G8 turns off dwell at position between moves. Smoother motion but *may* loose some contour accuracy, M3 spindle CW, E1 is work coordinate call'

Z1.2 H7 M8 'H for tool comp, M8 for flood coolant'

G0 G49 G90 Z0 'G49 cancels tool comp, G90 ensures absolute coordinates to return head to toolchange height'
T8 M6

M5 M9 'turn off spindle and coolant'
G0 G49 G90 Z0
X0 Y0 E0 'cancel work coordinate to return to 'home' position, which could be table forward
M2
%

Arc centers are relative coordinates, FWIW.

I'm pretty much clueless for A and B axis.

Tlipton, my 2 cents since you didn't ask.

Ditch Format 1, its acting funny because of Format 1. Format 1 was designed for finger cam, so it does a lot of things automatically, not all of which are desirable.