What's new
What's new

Fadal VMC 3016FX CNC MILL

bigdon26

Plastic
I am new to the Fadal CNC mill. I am use to Mazaks.

My question for anyone & everyone is can I teach all my tools 4.000 off the machine table and use the G54,G55,G56 for my program "Z"? I want to standardize my 21 tools for all jobs and just teach a "taught tool" off the top of a part for my program "Z". Do I still use a G90 or do I use a G92 in my program?

I really could use the help. I am new here and the only machinist............

What do you mean by "teach all my tools 4.000 off the machine table?" Do you mean dry-run your program with an extra 4" on the Z work offset:? Sure. But, your control may have that sort of thing built-in -- is there a "Dry" button on the control?

If you mean something else, then I got nothing :scratchchin:.

Regards.

Mike

No I meant as a standard for all tools. Currently I'm have to teach all tools off the top of the part. Next job, I have to reteach the same tools of the top of the new part. So I wanna just teach my tools once and use them on every job without having to reteach for every job or different parts.

So, you want all your tools to be 4" long? Trust me, you don't want that ;).

You measure and store the tool lengths in the control, then you simply tell the machine which tool length to use in your code:

G0G90G17G40G64G69G80
G55G100T4L3X.3063Y-.3434S16000M3
N4G43H4Z.25

Regards.

Mike

So, if you set all your tools to a known height (like a 4" inch block off the table) in the machine, then your fixture height offsets (G54, G55, G56, etc..) are just the difference in height from that point.

No...
I'm saying now I bring my tools down to top of the part and (teach them) by using "length set" T4 H4 H14 H24

My G54 Z & G55 Z & G56 value are zero. So I bring my tools down to the top of the part and press "Length set" it come up with
H4 Z-10.3681
H14 Z-8.6578
H24 Z-7.9615