What's new
What's new

Fanuc 0itc and M29 Rigid tapping question.

joesimmers

Aluminum
I just bought a lathe with a Fanuc 0itc control on it and i am trying to verify that it does indeed have rigid tapping option on the control.

I am just learning lathe programming (mill guy) so i have just gotten the machine to where I can run programs already in the control and set tools.

Perhaps someone could post a small simple tapping program that i could try?

Or is there another way to check if this option is turned on?

Thanks, joe Simmers

Been a while, but try something like this. I assume this is live tooling.

N1 G97 S800 M13 T0101;
M52;
G28 C0.;
G0 G99 X0. Z.25;
M29 S800;
G84 X0. Z-.5 F(lead);
G80;
G0 (home);
M15;
M53;
M1;

Rigid tapping non-live? Never heard of it. :smoking:

Use a floater, the Hardinge TT holder is great. Use G92 with the calculated dwell. The TT, and others, have pull-out distance. You need to subtract the pull-out distance from your Z depth in the cycle. ;)

Rigid Tapping.

Hello Joe:
Rigid tapping with the G84 cycle is an option, some machines have it and some don't.
Which machine did you get?
Generally, the real brand names would have the cycle.
Do you use G54-G55 for setup the Z zero or do you use the Workshift?
Are you doing OK with all the other features, Canned Cycles, Nose Radius Comp, etc.?
Lets say you want to tap a 3/8-16 tap in Mild Steel(1018)and you use the Workshift.
O1000*
G50 S1500*
T0101*
G97 S200 *
G0 X0 Z1.0 M8*
M29 S200 M3*
G84 R.2 Z-.6 F.0625*
G80*
G0 X4.0 Z4.0 M9*
M30*
I am not sure about the feedrate, it might be in IPM, I used feed per rev.
Call me if you are stuck with anything.
Heinz. 614-888-8466.
By the way, my website has changed, its:
http://www.doccnc.com

It is available:)

I don't get it, how's rigid available as a main spindle function? Then, wouldn't it all be rigid tap? Is rigid tap only with a collet? What if one is using an 8" 3-jaw chuck with large steel jaws?

Gentleman!