What's new
What's new

Fanuc 0t mdi problem

rifle guy

Aluminum
Machine: 92' Okuma Howa act 3
Control: Fanuc 0t (b/c not sure how to tell?)

Background:

Just purchased and installed this new to me lathe. I am very new to fanuc contols and their navigation but have run mazak, Haas and some miltronics controls in the past. From what I can tell all is well, machine homes and runs fine. I can write and edit programs. All key pad buttons and soft keys seem to work. So far I've searched and found answers to most of my problems here and on the web in general but two things still aren't making sense.

1st Problem:

I home the machine, all power indicator lights are lit. Switch to MDI with the panel switch and page to "MDI". I then am given a screen with " program MDI" in the upper left and the current program number upper right. A cursor is flashing under "program MDI". At the bottom of the screen I'm prompted to enter an address. I type a letter and receive a prompt for a number. I then enter a number ex: M03 the cursor now remains under the 3 and no combinations of keys I've found will get this string up to the top or in a place where cycle start will cause it to be read. Ex: "M03 ; (press input) ". I've tried m08, X1. , and a host of others with and without EOB. The eob writes the code in edit mode but does absolutely nothing here.

Any ideas? I've talked to local techs and had a lengthy phone diagnosis session with fanuc support. No solutions so far. What am I missing?

2nd problem.

I go to my offsets page and have soft key options for wear, geometry and w.shift. I can toggle between wear and geometry edit and store values just fine but I can't get the workshift screen to come up. I can shift my offset with g50 just fine but a page to view and change it would certainly be nice. Is this an option I don't have? If so why do I have the menu option?