What's new
What's new

Using optional stops on Heidenhain?

Texas Tim

Aluminum
Can anyone tell me if optional stops work the same on heidenhain TNC530 as I'm used to on fanuc and other G-code based controls? I'm very new to heidenhain controls.

I know how to enter them in the program at the end of each tool, but there are two things that make me think I'm not using them correctly.

#1, once I start running a program, I can't seem to access the soft key that lets me turn optional stop on. It seems I have to start the program with it on if I want to use it. What I'm trying to accomplish is to be able to turn it on and have the machine stop after the current tool is done working, before the next tool change, and to be able to do that at any time within the cycle, like I can on a fanuc.

#2, when I do start a program with opt stop on, like during a setup piece, the machine stops after each tool like I want, but then I cant seem to restart it by just pressing cycle start again. It seems to be in some alarm state that needs to be cleared out and then restarted.

Am I doing something wrong? Or is there a different way to accomplish this on heidenhain?

Thanks,
Tim

1. When its running you WON’T be able to access the softkey to turn on/off the opitional stop or block skip. Why? Wondered myself but it’s just the way it is, don’t know why. You can put the machine is single block wait for the machine to stop and then you have access to the softkeys again.
2. What is the alarm? On every Heidenhain I have run just hit the cycle start and it runs again.

There doesn’t seem to be anything wrong with you. But depending what error you get it can be a problem with the machine/integration

Does your code look like this? Or what

TOOL CALL 1 Z S2000
M01

Thank you Hansdie, for your response. (Sorry I don't check back here more often, I'm working a lot of hours and when I do get some free time, CNC's are the last thing I want to think about.)