What's new
What's new

Finish Issue - Grooving Tool - Mazak Lathe - 6061-T6

holows88

Aluminum
Hello all,

I'm still relatively new to programming on our Mazak QT lathes w/Mazatrol.

I'm hoping someone can give me some sort of recommendation on how to improve the surface finish on a groove in a part we're making. Here's what it's programmed to currently:

Cut-Off/Grooving tool: SGIH 26-3 with GTN3 IC328 insert (.123 wide)
Feed: .0005
DOC: .01
RV/FV: 788 (Default for aluminum on our controller)

I broke a blade using these settings, so I'm very wary of being too aggressive:

Feed: .0080
DOC: .01
RV/FV: 788

The cut is giving me a very raggedy edge. The blade is straight, the height is dead nuts. Does anyone have any advice?

Thanks in advance!

0507151445.jpg

Feed .002" to .004"
DOC = chip peck. Make this number bigger than your total groove depth and it will not peck. Change it to 1.0 for example.
RV/FV = SFM of roughing and finish tool. Change it to 1500 to 2000.

Run the shit out of it. :D

You increased your feed by a factor of 16? lol

26mm tall blade that is .123" wide...hmmm...I hope you don't have too much projection on that...

Cutting a 6" round bar down to 3.8"," 1.3" projection out of the holder. Good news is the blade didn't snap, but not holding inserts is problematic.

Right now I'm roughing it down with my slow (.0005"/.01") feed, just to avoid stressing the bar, then coming back with a finishing cut at .002"/1.0". Hoping I'll be able to repeat the results, as it's a critical dimension for our customer.

Right now I'm roughing it down with my slow (.0005"/.01") feed, just to avoid stressing the bar, then coming back with a finishing cut at .002"/1.0".

The .010" peck is NOT doing you any favors. The chips end up getting caught under the tool and it makes the finish look like shit as the tool is entering and withdrawing from the cut every time the insert removes .010" radially (.020" from the diameter) from the groove.