What's new
What's new

Good School to Learn CNC

r6racer5394

Plastic
I have been wanting to learn how to use cnc machines and im new to this. i want to know if anyone knows of a good school to attend in the Orlando, FL? I basically want to be able to run cnc mills and cnc stations. any help would be appreciated. thank you.

Florida doesn't spend much money on education. State technical schools are virtually nonexistent. Your best hope is to find a job as a button pusher in one of the many shops in your area.

Show initiative, put up with some crap (that means be patient), use your time away from work to learn the craft, and you will move up.

Too bad you are in Florida. Nice place to visit, but progressive things like education don't make it in a state with a high percentage of conservative retired folks.

Where I live (Indiana), people are conservative but we still have Vincennes University and Ivy Tech. They have great programs for people who want to be machinists. Other states are probably even better.

Is moving out of your cultural backwater an option? You could always move back after you got your training. Then you could be the big fish in a small pond!

Mid-Florida Tech

Mid-Florida Tech, in Orlando, has a pretty good selection of curricula. Okay, okay, they also have a Hurco. Heard some good things about them and their CNC offerings. Worth a look?

You may want to buy a good book on CNC programing, I recommend Peter Smid CNC Programing Handbook it's a bit slow getting started but it's a great primer.

Knowing something about machining in general will help you immensely, Machine Tool Practices by Kibbe, Meyer, Neely, and White is a great book for starters, look for an older edition or at a library or used book store it will save you some money.

There are also some free on line courses I am currently taking this one Sandvik Coronant's on line course on metal cutting a bit tedious to read but informative.