What's new
What's new

Goodway cnc's, or other taiwan brands?

SND

Diamond
Any of you seen or used those Goodway, or I think also sold as Yama Seiki CNC turning centers? Are they on the better end of Taiwain brands? any others maybe worth a look? (feeler, or ...? ) none of these get talked about much on here, so probably not very popular eh?

Just wondering if they're any decent for the $ or worth checking out at all. My first couple options appear to have fallen off the map, too many red flags, so now its the debate between other lower end machines, or waiting another year or 2 and saving up more $ for a high end brand that costs twice as much, ugh.

thanks

Last edited:
You're looking for a lathe?

I'm quite impressed by our Victors - marketed as Fortune in the States. The iron is carbon copy of '90's Mori SL series, very robust and reliable. We have one that is 20 years old and going strong.

Caveat: Ours are big lathes, I have no experience with their smaller machines, which I guess is what you're looking for?

Caveat 2: The Victors are basically the source of my contempt for Fanuc controls. They are O/Oi series with no-frills integration and they both suck. I have an 18i on a Doosan that I hate less.

Thanks, and yes a lathe/turning center, I forgot to mention that in first post.

Its weird how there's pretty much 10 medium/big brands, and then about a 100 or more tiny other manufacturers/brands, and their machines hardly ever show up anywhere, I wonder how they all stay in business at all.