What's new
What's new

Hardinge/Bridgeport V1000 Opinions? VS Kitamura 4XiD

red beard

Cast Iron
I'm planning on purchasing a new VMC this year and the Hardinge V1000 is currently at the top of my list. I found some older threads on this model with mostly good reviews, but at that point I don't think many people had used them for very long. I was wondering what people thought of the V1000 after using it for awhile.

Looking at the specs it appears to be the most machine for the money in its class, but I do have a couple of concerns.

First, the control: I have no experience with Mitsubishi controls. Most of my experience is with Fanuc and Milltronics. I purchased a used turning center with a Siemens 840C last year, and I'm finally getting used to that. I haven't heard anything bad about Mitsubishi, but I would like to hear what others think of this M70V control.

Second, my biggest concern, is the Rigidity. We cut a lot of stainless in our shop, so rigidity is very important. Yes, the V1000 is heavy (15400 lbs) and it has good-sized ballscrews (45mm) but the ways seem kind of light. The ways on the V1000 are ball-type linear ways; 35mm on the X axis and 45mm on Y and Z. For comparison, the next machine on of my list, the Kitamura 4XiD, has 63mm ROLLER linear ways. It would seem that the Kitamura would be significantly more rigid.

A lot of the jobs that the new machine would be running are currently being run on on old Box-way Supermax Max-3. Is the Hardinge going to be a big step down in rigidity vs our old Supermax?

The Kitamura comes in at $13k more than the Hardinge. They both have the same control. The Hardinge has a better warranty. The Kitamura has a 40 tool changer vs 30 on the Hardinge. The Kitamura has a belt driven spindle vs direct drive on the Hardinge.

I'm surprised there aren't any comments yet.
There's a pretty good comparison on youtube between the old Hardinge (GX1000 I think) and the new V1000.
It seems to be pretty beefy.