What's new
What's new

CNC Lathe Face Grooving Help

dstryr

Diamond
This may be a dumb question but I am very new to Lathe work and have to do some face grooving in 304l. It seems everytime I get this job in I have to dial out this problem. My solution will work for a full batch and then the next time I run the job it fights me again. I have an iscar face grooving tool with a .156 wide insert.

The groove dimensions are as follows
OD: 1.230
ID: .5
Depth .05

I'm currently plunge grooving out the material and then turning the bottom depth and walls but somewhere I'm getting chatter. I think it is due to the first initial plunge cut.

On face grooving, the tools show min and max diameters? I can't quite wrap my head around this specification? Is this the first cut diameter range or max / min range for the tool?

So if my tool range is from 1.15 to .4 and I try and take a cut at 1.230 it is going to rub correct? Will I be successful if I take a cut at 1.0 and then step out to the larger diameter?

So if my tool range is from 1.15 to .4 and I try and take a cut at 1.230 it is going to rub correct? Will I be successful if I take a cut at 1.0 and then step out to the larger diameter?

Correct, it will rub that way. Your proposed method should work fine. Don't baby it with the feed rate. Run it in at .004" to .008" per rev for an insert that wide. You also shouldn't have to step it out to the larger and smaller diameters. With the right insert and a depth of only .05", you should be able to plunge in at Ø 1" and then just face cut it. No need for multiple plunging.

Correct, it will rub that way. Your proposed method should work fine. Don't baby it with the feed rate. Run it in at .004" to .008" per rev for an insert that wide. You also shouldn't have to step it out to the larger and smaller diameters. With the right insert and a depth of only .05", you should be able to plunge in at Ø 1" and then just face cut it. No need for multiple plunging.