What's new
What's new

How do I machine a Fixture Plate?

ProjectZero

Aluminum
Hi guys,

I’m an amateur CNC machinist who needs to create a fixture plate for my ’05 Fadal VMC 3016. I’ve done some simpler parts in a vice, but for what’s coming up for work, a fixture plate would definitely help me do clean part flips. I’m basing mine off one I used to use at school (pic below).

1. It will have the same 1” grid of holes, with the top half of each hole being 5/16” press fit hole (.3125-.001 underreamed) and the bottom half being tapped 1/4-20.
  2. Aligning it with the CNC bed is a little tricky because, unlike the Haas I learned on at school, the tracks are not a standard width that lend themselves to pressing in chunky off the shelf dowel pins. At school the track width was .625 so you pressed .625 dowel pins into your fixture plate and were set. My fadal has a weird .709 track width. I will either mill out (I don’t have a lathe unfortunately) .708 pins to press in or just press in .625 dowel pins, then push my plate back against the track as I tighten it down. Fortunately my work doesn’t have to be as hyper precise as a pro machine shop.
  3. It will be a bit longer than the picture below - I’ll lengthen it from 8” x 12 inches, to 8” x 14 or 16 inches.

But my question is this - just *how* do I machine it? I’m scratching my head here. My 8” vice isn’t big enough to hold it. I could get a BIG piece of aluminum (10x18 wish), strap clamp it down on top of some scrap polycarbonate, and then machine it out of the inside of this big piece of stock. Is there a better way? How do you guys usually machine your fixture plates?

Thanks!

Screen Shot 2017-03-09 at 1.43.12 PM.jpg

Put your jaws on the outside of the Kurt, face one side flat, you can flip it over and see if you can get it parallel with the other side too.(I would use double sided tape for this) You could also buy tooling plate that wouldn't need to be faced.