What's new
What's new

How do you "true up" NEW, pointed, soft jaws to hold a small diameter?

doug925

Titanium
After 20+ years of owning my own shop, I feel like a complete NooB:o asking this, but truly, I don't know.

How are you supposed to use (or true up) the points on a new set of steel soft jaws, for small diameter chucking?

1) My lathe chucks are Kitagawa B208 or B210's with 1.5mm x 60° serrations.
2) 90% of the soft jaws I purchase are 2 - 2.5" tall, flat ended, steel, offset, soft jaws.
3) We always chuck on something when we bore our jaws: jaw boring rings, jaw boring plates, cheek plates (in between the 120° mating surfaces of the 3 jaws, when closed) and slugs/ pins of material
4) Purchased jaws w/ pointed ends are not a good surface to chuck with, and need to be machined, to spin small diameter material concentric to the spindle.

Question:
How does one true up the points, say for holding Ø3/8" or Ø1/2" ??

Running a long endmill right down the center, does not yield a good gripping surface. It is also way too deep & too small of a diameter to follow with a boring bar. (the L/D ratio would be 7/1)

I can think of making a mill fixture to hold the jaws with the serrations, and then mill a radius (a flat, or the part shape) into the jaws,
OR
Dismounting:confused: the chuck from the lathe, and milling the jaws when installed on the lathe chuck.:nutter: This approach seems like a LOT of unnecessary work.

So, what am I missing????

Thanks,

Doug.

I too thought about following with a reamer, but the pilot hole would need to be perfectly straight.
A drill might want to walk, and the reamer will follow the pilot.
I figured an endmill would plunge straight, where the drill might wander......

Its not that hard.. I've held down to 3/32" in softjaws on an 8" chuck..
I pretty regularly grab 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2" in a 10 inch chuck in soft jaws.

Its itty bitty material, you don't need much force, and you don't need to grab
on a mile of it..

A list of stuff.