What's new
What's new

How does touch probe connect/work interface to a CNC machine?

SRT Mike

Stainless
Gentlemens....

I am working with a customer who has a bunch of Robodrills with Fanuc 31i controls as well as some Mori's and Hyundais also with Fanuc controls (not sure the specific model control on those).

I am trying to make things flow faster through the shop, and right now a LOT of time is spend inspecting parts, especially because a lot of the parts have complex surfaces or features/locations which are difficult to measure.

Upgrading to probing from the likes of Blum/Renishaw on these machines would be nice, but it's simply not in the cards right now, but could be in the future if the value of probing was demonstrated and made clear.

I'm an electrical engineer and on my own CNC machine, I "hacked" it to add probing. I bought a probe which is essentially a 5-axis switch that switches on contact with the part. My machine has a Mitsubishi control and I was able to cobble together a system where the probe contacts the part, a signal is sent to the NC control which causes motion to stop and the current X/Y/Z position is output over serial which I captured. I was using this to build point cloud data for scanning parts.

However, I am thinking I could put something similar together for this customer, possibly. A probing system like a Renishaw OMP60 has the spindle probe plus a control unit. The control unit interfaces with the NC control... I assume it must just have a couple of communication lines back/forth to the NC control and tells the NC unit when contact was made, and most of the rest is handled through the macros installed on the machine? Am I correct?

Basically, if anyone can provide any detail on how probing in implemented on a Fanuc control, it would be much appreciated. Or if there's a manual online I can read somewhere, that would be great.

So you plan on integrating a diy probe and writing all the macros for it?