What's new
What's new

Programming Help

Mike_H

Plastic
I need a little help- I am just learning basic programming. I can do quite well with my HAAS tl-1, but when it comes to writing my own programs I still get stuck easily.

I currently need to machine this simple feature on the OD of a 1-1/4" round bar - a concave groove, 1/2" wide and 3/16" deep, or the diameter reduced to 7/8". The shape is rounded with a 1/4" radius specified. How would you write this program? I was going to round off a 1/8" grooving tool to make the cut. In the same area- I once tried to cut the same type of groove for a tube bending die. I'm sure this is obvious to many of you- but after hours of frustration- show me the light! :confused:

Many Thanks!!

-Mike

I would probably use an Iscar cutgrip style tool, and purchase a full radius insert for it. By full radius, I mean a completely round nose insert, with no flat spot, in other words, not a bullnose tool. The advantage of using a commercial insert is that it will have some chipforming capability (if you buy the correct one), and the tool radius will be an assumed truly formed curve. Probably a 2 or 2.5mm radius tool would serve the purpose.

Make a starting plunge right in the center of the groove position. Go within a few thousandths of full depth.

Then create a left side toolpath and a right side toolpath. The toolpath would be bell-shaped, taking successive increasing radial cuts, starting at the OD near the center of the groove and moving down towards the plunged groove that was made initially. Work your way over til your final cut contours along the groove curve. Repeat on the other half of the curve.

If you like, you could take a really skimpy finish cut from one side to the other, but on cnc, this is generally not necessary, because it is not difficult to stop exactly at the bottom of the groove, retract and come down again.