What's new
What's new

I need help picking cnc mill

rukwikenuf

Plastic
Good afternoon.
A little background on me, I'm a 32 year old student at Hennepin Tech in Brooklyn Park, MN. I've taken every machining class that this school offers, and I've just landed a gig as a machinist. Here's the problem:
My machines are manual, not CNC, and my bosses don't understand machining. It's a small shop, and we build CNC saws for companies that build trusses for building homes and such. My boss is an engineer, and the "foreman"is a lumber worker. We've got a fabricator and a mechanic.

The machines I have right now are a Rong Fu Mill drill and a jet lathe. The jet is actually a nice machine, but as you can imagine or testify, the Rong Fu is a pile of trash.

I am working with hot rolled steel, exclusively. Since the company is from Australia, everything is metric (inconvenient when getting materials) so I have to do a lot of sizing.

That's the back story. I'm trying to convince the owner that if he gets a cnc mill for me, that he's going to save a ton of money in the long run. Right now we send a lot of work out to a shop for laser cutting, and I can do ALL that if I had a cnc machine.

In school I worked on a Bridgeport EZ TRAK, and I got familiar with it. I'm thinking something like that would be a good candidate, but my experience is limited. I'm pretty sure I can convince him, but he's not going to want to go to ER collets, and he's already offering a monster mill from Taiwan that's available with a cnc control, but he's getting it without.

Do any of you have a suggestion for a heavy use mill that has 2 or 3 axis cnc operation, that isn't going to break his bank account, but will still handle the 20" long parts I make?
Oh, I'd prefer to not need any CAM software

Thank you for the assistance

Right now we send a lot of work out to a shop for laser cutting, and I can do ALL that if I had a cnc machine.