What's new
What's new

Injection mold - side action technique

kaemd

Plastic
hello,

I've been making plastic injection mold for 2 years, made about 5 mold which was a success for a beginner.

Now I want to try a small mold with side core action.

I am a bit lost, I found many kind of sidecore action technique, and don't know the pros and cons of each type.

I seem to like the one with only the side core pushed back by springs , and an upper core that push the side core by 35degree . for the ease of machining.

I want to avoid the side core pins, cause I havn't the material to make an inclined hole in the mold plate.

any suggestion please .

Not quite sure of spring loaded cores, don't think I have ever seen one. Instead of pecker pins you could use either a hydraulic action or cam action with core keyed to the force.

TOM

hello,

I've been making plastic injection mold for 2 years, made about 5 mold which was a success for a beginner.

Now I want to try a small mold with side core action.

I am a bit lost, I found many kind of sidecore action technique, and don't know the pros and cons of each type.

I seem to like the one with only the side core pushed back by springs , and an upper core that push the side core by 35degree . for the ease of machining.

I want to avoid the side core pins, cause I havn't the material to make an inclined hole in the mold plate.

any suggestion please .

You dont have a bridgeport, or cant scribe lines and setup in a cnc to do horn pins?
Horn pins are easy, and cheap. I sure as hell wouldnt trust a sprung action. One overfilled part, and youve got smashed ej pins and various other messes on your hands....
Horn pins and wedge blocks should also be done 2 degrees different from each other, so the actions are never fighting each other.

Cheers

For prototype parts or real low volume quantitys you can also go with a handload for undercut details. For short travel the lock can also have the cam action built in one piece.