What's new
What's new

Intermediate 5 axis Help

iMillJoe

Hot Rolled
I'm lucky enough to be in a position where I have a sweet new trunion style 5AX to play with. I have some experience in 3+2, and for the most part the lessons learned there have applied. I was quite expectantly met by a 'known unknown' last week when I decided to put a chamfer on a chamfer. I can do the math, (or rather make the machine do the math) to keep track of the position of such a feature, but I can't for the life of me find what angles I need to tilt to. When BOTH rotary axes are not parallel/perpendicular XYZ (non-orthogonal?), I am beyond my current abilities to do the maths needed to derive the angels I must input. I have not yet figured out how to get a cam system to tell me what I need either. I've tried online calculators that have not produced correct results. I've spent time learning about rotational matrices, but thats a system of math I'm not familiar with, and even my counterpart who can do calculus hasn't yet got that ironed out. How do you guys do the math to pop the hole in this simple model?

non-ortho.jpg