State/Province
    Utah
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default kennametal or maritool ?

I just bought my first personal machine, a Haas Minimill2

I have no experience with Kennametal or Maritool

We have Regofix and currently we order Techniks USA, I dont want the same tool holders the shop has, so no one can take and mix my holders with the other shop holders.
    My CNC is in my friends manufacturing/machine shop facility.

Can anyone give recommendations on either.

I have heard nothing but great about Maritool ($100 CAT40)
    But I get a 50% discount on all Kennametal with the new machine ($80 CAT40)

On a side note I will be replacing the usage of these tool holders with heat-shrink holders for all precision cutting tools, endmills and such. because of hi spindle speed low run-out. And because we have a $10k heat shrink machine that just sits here.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Houdini16 View Post
    I have heard nothing but great about Maritool ($100 CAT40)
    But I get a 50% discount on all Kennametal with the new machine ($80 CAT40)
    Flip a coin

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Both companies make good toolholders. I would buy whichever one cost less.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I went with Lyndex for my new mill but they were dual contact, I have a other mills that are totally Kennametal...they are quality holders. I don't own any Maritool but I have heard excellent things and the customer service appears to be awesome.

If it was all equal cost wise I'd go with Mari, but with the tooling cert I'd go Kenna. I don't think either is a bad choice.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

From my own experience with Kennametal, and the praise that everyone on here has for Maritool, I'd say Maritool every time.