What's new
What's new

kennametal or maritool ?

Houdini

Titanium
I just bought my first personal machine, a Haas Minimill2

I have no experience with Kennametal or Maritool

We have Regofix and currently we order Techniks USA, I dont want the same tool holders the shop has, so no one can take and mix my holders with the other shop holders.
My CNC is in my friends manufacturing/machine shop facility.

Can anyone give recommendations on either.

I have heard nothing but great about Maritool ($100 CAT40)
But I get a 50% discount on all Kennametal with the new machine ($80 CAT40)

On a side note I will be replacing the usage of these tool holders with heat-shrink holders for all precision cutting tools, endmills and such. because of hi spindle speed low run-out. And because we have a $10k heat shrink machine that just sits here.

I went with Lyndex for my new mill but they were dual contact, I have a other mills that are totally Kennametal...they are quality holders. I don't own any Maritool but I have heard excellent things and the customer service appears to be awesome.

If it was all equal cost wise I'd go with Mari, but with the tooling cert I'd go Kenna. I don't think either is a bad choice.

From my own experience with Kennametal, and the praise that everyone on here has for Maritool, I'd say Maritool every time.

Kennametal holders and collets are nothing special these days, with some amount of it being made in India you can't be sure what you're going to get.

I assume the $80 is the half price cost? If so this is a totally BS way to do business which these big companies get away with and on that alone I shy away from these companies. Couple that with what gregormarwick said above... Maritool. I have had great experience with Maritool personally- nothing out of the ordinary just no BS purchases and a good web site. The big guys don't operate that way anymore.