What's new
What's new

Learning CNC: Where to start?

Parkermetal

Plastic
Hello, all,

This is my first posting in the PM forums and I suppose a formal 'Hello' is due. I've been machining since I graduated High School in early 2014, took a year-long vocational school class in basic machining alongside my senior year. I'm still green, all things considered, but I have learned quite a lot in my time out in the industry, considering I have only had one vacation in my three years running :D . I have learned all I know by going from shop to shop and going under the wing of a few very experienced machinists. I'm very comfortable with manual machining from VTL's to your standard mills and lathes, welding, etc. For a while I worked with a gun manufacturer running/operating Citizen Cincom Swiss machines and moved away to a medical device facility due to better pay opportunities.

Aside from the whole background, my biggest thing is I've been learning a lot and gaining a lot of experience without going to college. Not to toot my own horn but I've been told that I've been doing great for my young age and that by the time my tenth year into the machining industry hits I'll be well off in terms of knowledge. I'm glad that I have been able to avoid college debt thus far, but it seems near impossible to find a source that I can use to learn the essence that is G-Code without dumping money into schooling; something I wish to avoid. I'm very aware that CNC machining is where the industry currently thrives and that manual job shops and fabrication shops are small due to the larger demand for the CNC label on a product. Does anyone in the PM community have some advise on where to look/ what to do to self-teach myself G-Code? Forgive the large background, I just want to make sure y'all know where I'm coming from. :) Any help is appreciated, thanks in advance.