What's new
What's new

Looking to buy a new machine...

Jeremy63

Plastic
I've been doing this for about 3 years now, and I'm starting to grow enough to where I'm considering a new machine. I've always been a fan of Haas, but after reading through some of the threads on here, it sounds like they are having a lot of issues...

I currently have a 4 axis machine that has a 7.5 hp 4000 rpm spindle, and 175 max rapid rate. It's pretty well maxed out as far as run time at this point due to the spindle.

I'm looking to get a decent 3 axis machine with a 5 axis trunnion on it. I was looking into either a VF-3 or VM-3 with a TR160(or maybe a little bigger) on it. However, I don't have any other Haas machines, so I'm not partial to Haas. What other machines would be comparable or be a better deal?

I'm not looking for the fastest or most accurate top of the line pricey machine, but I want something that can make good parts fast. I do mostly short runs, so I'm looking for more versatility than anything.

Any input is appreciated, thanks everyone!

What's your work envelope? I know the Brother machines are getting quite popular and will do 5-axis indexing. And they'll definitely meet the FAST requirement.

Around 40"x20"x25" would be about what I'm looking for. While I've drooled over the Brothers a good bit myself, I'm guessing that they are a little bit pricey for that size. Haas fits my budget a little better, but it seems that their quality may be going down from what I've heard. I'm also loking into a Doosan machine, but I have no idea how their machines or support are.

I just picked up a doosan dnm5700 ,, there $79.900 with 12K spindle, TSC /TSA and a real chip conveyor .. Being one of the people haas screwed over with there POS new next-gen control I have had enough of haas. I looked at about every mill made and brothers and doosan came to the top of my list ,,, I went with doosan in that it fit the line of parts I wanted it for better ,,, that and I just like 40 taper.