What's new
What's new

Looking to buy used hitachi seiki CNC lathe

ajk2004

Aluminum
Hey guys,
I am a school teacher in Iowa and I am just getting myself and my classroom into CNC machining. I stumbled across titan Gilroy and the titans of CNC site and am rather inspired about everything that site has to offer. Thanks to his tutorials I have my students designing and programming parts and we don’t even have a mill yet. I was fortunate to get a CNC knee mill from govt. surplus. I’m picking it up soon and we will start making chips. On to the point of this post... I am getting into CNC machining myself and wouldn’t mind having a machine of my own at home. There is a used hitachi seiki lathe a couple of hours away that the company is selling for $2000. It looks like a decent machine and they said it works and they use it from time to time for production parts. They are selling a bunch of older machines which makes me think they are just upgrading their fleet. I want to learn how to do it but I can’t justify spending 10-30000 on a nice used machine. The model is an ht20. What do you guys think? Sound too good to be true? Thanks.
Andy

Hitachi Seiki used proprietary front end software on most of their controls and in many cases proprietary hardware. They've been out of the machine business for a long time now. The availability of parts and support is pretty bad. It's one machine brand I'd never have for myself.

Hitachi Seiki used proprietary front end software on most of their controls and in many cases proprietary hardware. They've been out of the machine business for a long time now. The availability of parts and support is pretty bad. It's one machine brand I'd never have for myself.

What Vancbiker said.....I would stay away too.

My simple advice for buying a CNC anything... ESPECIALLY if you are new to it...

PARTS and SUPPORT!!! You have to be able to get PARTS and SUPPORT!!!!

If you can't get PARTS!!! and SUPPORT!!!! you might as well spend your $2k on