What's new
What's new

Looking for a source to cut sterling silver for jewelry

Gpvanarsdale

Plastic
I am a jewelry designer and I have some 2D designs that I need to cut in sterling silver. I am looking for a source to cut the pieces. The designs are quite simple such as name pendants, bar pendants and simple shapes.. I do not not have a preference on technology used (laser, waterjet or CNC). So far I have not had any luck finding a company that will work with fine metals. I am hoping that someone in this forum can help me.

Also, I am interested in buying a machine that can cut fine metal up to 2mm. I have read that a CNC may be a good solution that will not break the bank. Any recommendation on what to buy? My budget is around $2K

With your raw materials cost being so high, not sure that machining is the right direction to go... Turning precious metals into chips seems like a bad idea to me...

There simply is no ~$2000 laser that will cut sterling silver... Not sure you can get any waterjet for ~$2000 - generally not ideal for smallish parts anyway.

Why not use investment casting? You could certainly use a small CNC (or a high-resolution 3D printer) to make your investments...

I am a jewelry designer and I have some 2D designs that I need to cut in sterling silver. I am looking for a source to cut the pieces. The designs are quite simple such as name pendants, bar pendants and simple shapes.. I do not not have a preference on technology used (laser, waterjet or CNC). So far I have not had any luck finding a company that will work with fine metals. I am hoping that someone in this forum can help me.

Also, I am interested in buying a machine that can cut fine metal up to 2mm. I have read that a CNC may be a good solution that will not break the bank. Any recommendation on what to buy? My budget is around $2K

Silver is a 'base' metal, rather neat stuff, but still not 'noble', and not really all that costly.