What's new
What's new

macro question

jig grind dave

Plastic
hello, im new to macro programming and trying unsuccessfully, to get a simple "if-then" macro to work.
any helpful advice will be rewarded handsomely !!
im working on a jig grinder with a fanuc 180i mb control.
trying to adjust the feed at different intervals along the x axis utilizing variable #5041 (current position).
its not working.
it does not alarm out, it doesnt do anything.
im expressing the macro as follows at the beginning of the program.
if[#5041 is le xxxx] then f#xxxx
i have found, in the book, some narrative that may explain why it does not work, but not sure if this is the reason why, it does not work.
it states that "the read operation during movement is disabled" relative to variables #5041-#5048.
if this is the reason, can & how do i "enable" it, and will this affect anything else negatively ?
thank you all.
dave

The reason it is disabled is due to the servo lag in updating the control. If you read 5041 while it is moving, it is not at the actual *current position* it is at the position it *WAS* at when the control polled the servo, but that was up to several hundred milliseconds ago........and the machine is not at that position any longer because it is moving.

There is a macro sticky at the top of the forum, I believe it to be worth reading the whole thing. Lots of good info in that thread.

That expression is not in the correct format.

It should be "IF [#5041 LE 542.0] GOTO 200" Where 200 = N200

Block N200 would have the modified feed as the contents of the block.